Preview Us/Them – Phase II

Just a few weeks ago I’ve launched the first part of my new project called US/Them.

As I’m about to head off to Afghanistan in 2 weeks, this project will be put on hold during the summer and only in September will I get truly back to it.

I did want to give you a preview of the Us/Them – Phase II, so you already have an idea where I’m going with this.

© Wendy Marijnissen

Phase II will become a collection of portraits of women with or without a headscarf.  The ones above are two images of the wonderful Leen Van Severen. An incredible inspiring and creative young woman, who runs an amazing fashion blog ‘More dash than cash’,  where she tells us about her style, style icons and how getting cancer affects her in both fashion and life in general.

Dressing up and expressing herself through her outfits is what makes her happy and especially now, when you’re not happy all the time and have serious things to deal with, it can lift you up. It’s not a serious cancer blog at all, but shows you that despite the disease, you can remain who you are and you can still express yourself.

The blog is only in dutch, but of course you can check out the photo’s and links that she posts as well. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

2 thoughts on “Preview Us/Them – Phase II

  1. Alexander Nitzsche says:

    Where in Afghanistan are you going, Wendy? My wife and I haven’t been for several years now, but she went for a women’s NGO in 2004 and 2005, and I am wondering what project you are going to cover over there. We put together a book for Afghan women (see http://www.scribd.com/doc/25193058/Our-Country-My-Role) so we have a vested interest. Besides, could you image to gather some material for Us/Them also there? Or would it be too much of a cliche for the way how you approach it? Best, Alex

    • Hey Alex,
      Thanks for your nice comment. I’ll email you in private about your question.
      Thanks for the link you posted. I’ll check it out this morning 🙂
      Best, Wendy

Leave a comment