25 years Stijn Meuris

© Wendy Marijnissen

© Wendy Marijnissen

Today I read that musician Stijn Meuris will celebrate 25 years of making music today.

I went back to my archive, as I photographed him in my first project ever, ‘Close & Personal’, a series of portraits of theatre makers and musicians. The whole concept of the project was that they were allowed to choose the location in which I would photograph them. The only demand I had was that it needed to be of personal meaning to them. In that way they could decide themselves how far or how close they would allow me during the session.

Stijn chose the fairground in Antwerp during the day when it is closed as it inspires him to walk around there, gives him a feel of the life of the people working at the fairground, tickling his imagination.

In the series I photographed more musicians and I still love these images to this day. It literally meant the start of my adventure back into the world of photography, which was halted for years after my father passed away. Music and theatre were my escape and through that I was able to slowly reconnect with my passion for photography and literally find myself again.

Here’s 3 more images of Tine Reymer, Tom Pintens and the Dewaele brothers of Soulwax and too many dj’s.

© Wendy Marijnissen

© Wendy Marijnissen

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

