Ian MacKaye

Time sure flies…

I just realized today it’s already been 3 years ago, almost to the day, that I met and photographed a person I really admire and respect. Ian MacKaye from the legendary band Fugazi.

© Wendy Marijnissen

© Wendy Marijnissen

I was traveling and photographing the North-Eastern part of the US and going in search of my hardcore roots, that were a part of my adolescence life. (and still are)
Fugazi’s music has been so important to me in so many ways and I still love their music as much as I did back then.

And today while talking to Nico, a friend and talented theatre maker, I had to think about the moment I was in the basement of Dischord House, where Fugazi rehearse and have recorded some of their albums. What was supposed to be a meeting and about an hour to photograph and talk to him, became an entire afternoon and a wonderful encounter between us. Ian told me that I must be doing something right because I was there in that moment, having a wonderful conversation with him in a basement in the middle of Arlington, West-Virginia and life was pretty good right?. It was…. and knowing where I come from, the road that I’ve traveled… today I was reminded again of the fact, that life is pretty good at this moment and I’m surrounded by some of the most amazing friends.

© Wendy Marijnissen

© Wendy Marijnissen

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

