Tehran Blues part 1

 

Today marks the 35th anniversary of the Islamic Revolution in Iran.

About 7 years ago I embarked on what then was to be my greatest adventure yet. One month off photographing in Iran.  I wanted to continue the work I did in Israel and Palestine for my series Strike a chord. Using music to show a different side of a country that we only know by our media in one particular way. I always believe there is much more to a country and it’s people and I was curious to go out and investigate.

Nervous as while the airplane was descending it changed into a dressing room and all the women prepared to get ready with their headscarves, chadors and manteaux. I brought some scarves and modest clothing and joined the women. So scared the headscarf would fall off, I put it around my head so tightly that according to my my amazing friend Maryam, I looked like the most conservative Iranian girl ever.

I met Maryam on my second day when I had a meeting with her husband who was the editor of a music magazine. Instead I met her and she became my guide and the most amazing friend to have, a friendship that lasts until now  : )

Tomorrow more in part 2.

© Wendy Marijnissen

© Wendy Marijnissen

© Wendy Marijnissen

© Wendy Marijnissen

© Wendy Marijnissen

© Wendy Marijnissen

© Wendy Marijnissen

© Wendy Marijnissen

© Wendy Marijnissen

© Wendy Marijnissen

© Wendy Marijnissen

© Wendy Marijnissen

© Wendy Marijnissen

© Wendy Marijnissen

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “Tehran Blues part 1

  1. Sally says:

    Fantastic images. I’d really like to visit.

Leave a Reply

