Samenleving en Politiek

© Wendy Marijnissen

© Wendy Marijnissen

I’m really happy that in the latest issue of magazine Samenleving and Politiek, an 8 page portfolio of my work on Hamida’s Camp pregnancy is published.

Hamida’s story is one that touched me deeply and somehow it says everything about me as a photographer as well.  It perfectly shows the way I love telling stories… Connecting with a person, even though maybe we don’t speak the same language, coming from different backgrounds. We live in completely different worlds and yet we seem to understand each other.

 It’s also about taking time. Working longer on an essay and not just go in and out in a day or dash in for an hour. It’s about investing your time and not even photographing every moment, but just being there, observing, learning… In that sense it’s literally a story about us both.  Hamida as the leading lady and me as her storyteller.

When I’ll receive the paper copy in my mailbox,  I’ll share some images here on the blog.

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

