Backstage

© Wendy Marijnissen

The Seatsniffers © Wendy Marijnissen

 

Just now, I was looking up my photo of the arm of the drummer of Antwerp band the Seatsniffers. The picture I took of his arm with the pin-up tattoo, taken over 12 years ago, is still one of my absolute favorite images.

I went back into my archive, to check more of the images from this series ‘Backstage’.  I spent over a year and half photographing musicians backstage at the cultural centre De Warande in the provincial city Turnhout.  It was my second photographical project and the first one assigned to me.  I’m still so thankful for the opportunity they gave me back then.   It took me quite a while longer to make the jump to go for photography full-time, but after this project somehow there wasn’t a way back anymore and it did tell me that photography was what I wanted and needed to do and that I would find a way.

I was able to experiment photographically in a difficult building, I got to have my first big exhibition together with seasoned artist/musician Rudi Trouvé (dEUS, Kiss my jazz, etc…) and got to make my first book/exhibition catalogue.  An unforgettable experience and many lessons learned. So thank you De Warande, and in particular thank you Toon and Staf!

© Wendy Marijnissen

An Pierlé © Wendy Marijnissen

© Wendy Marijnissen

Taraf de Haidouks © Wendy Marijnissen

© Wendy Marijnissen

The Internationals © Wendy Marijnissen

 

PS. Win a signed copy of the backstage book.  

How?  Make a comment here on the blog or say you want to have a shot at it on my FB page and your name will go into the hat and you might get a chance to win🙂

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Backstage

  1. Wel mevrouw,🙂 mag ik de eerste zijn.

  2. stefaanvandorpe says:

    Dag Wendy, als Tom den eerste is, dan wil ik gerust de laatste zijn🙂 Ook al heel wat backstage foto’s kunnen nemen (u was de inspiratiebron) maar van een boek(je) is er nog helemaal geen sprake.

Leave a Reply

