Check-up

© Wendy Marijnissen

© Wendy Marijnissen

© Wendy Marijnissen

© Wendy Marijnissen

In looking for some images in my archive, I came across these two, of women waiting for a antenatal check-up in the tent camp for flood victims in Karachi, Pakistan.

I spent a good part of 6 weeks in this camp with the doctors and midwives from the Pakistani Medical Association and Qatar Hospital in Orangi town. Most of these women come from poor rural villages of the Sindh province and never have had regular checks during their pregnancy until here… Most will have delivered babies before with the help of a traditional midwife known as a dai.

© Wendy Marijnissen

© Wendy Marijnissen

During my time in the camp, I had the immense honor and pleasure to get to know Hamida and her family. We instantly made a click from the moment we met and I followed my intuition and kept visiting them. In the end I got to share some intimate moments with this family, got to be present during the delivery of her baby and even got the honor to become an elder and choose the name for the baby.

© Sajjad Siddiqui

© Sajjad Siddiqui

I was not able to re-connect with them during my last visit to Pakistan due to security issues… Sadly they live in a very dangerous part of the country plagued by bandits and gangs…

I do hope Hamida, her husband and their 4 wonderful children are well. I’m curious about how Rehan Ali is doing… He will be big already and walking and talking by now…

Fingers crossed one day I’ll be able to find them again and see how they are doing with my own eyes.

 

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

