Valtari

I came across this music video ‘Valtari’ of Sigur Ros directed by Christian Larson and was blown away by it.

Sigur Rós: Valtari on Nowness.com.

The incredible and intimate dancing is done by James O’Hara and Nicola Leahey in a haunting choreography by Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui. It’s part of a series commissioned by the Icelandic band Sigur Ros to herald the release of their new album Valtari, giving filmmakers such as Ryan McGinley total creative freedom yet the same budget to interpret the record.

The most fun and lovely assignment this year so far has been photographing the rehearsals of Sidi Larbi’s new piece Puz/zle for the French magazine L’Express. All day I had the joy to watch a choreography take shape, see dancers searching and use their bodies in beautiful ways.

© Wendy Marijnissen

© Wendy Marijnissen

I’ve done quite a bit of dance photography in the past and it always made me incredibly happy. I realized I’ve neglected going to see dance performances in the past few years and that I’ve been going to the theatre much more often. That is not a bad thing either of course, but I’m making a promise to myself right now to go and see a bit more dance in the coming year.

© Wendy Marijnissen

I started by going to the cinema and seeing the new movie made about choreographer Anne Theresa de Keersmaecker. It was a beautiful film about how she and her original dancers of Rosas went to Paris to teach classical ballet dancers of the Paris Opera her modern piece Rain. I photographed Anne Theresa and her dancers years ago and it was so great to see them in the movie again… They’ve all aged a bit of course, just like me, but their souls and expressions were still so beautiful, vibrant and strong.

Here’s the trailer of that film. I think the film will be on Belgian tv next week so do not miss it or try to go see it in a movie theatre near you when you have a chance.

RAIN trailer from Savage Film on Vimeo.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

