Debate

© Wendy Marijnissen

© Wendy Marijnissen

For my new project Us/Them  I have been privileged to follow Meyrem Almaci for the past couple of months. A wonderful, strong and intelligent woman leading the list of the Flemish ecological party ‘Groen’ in Antwerp.

By trailing in her shadow, I’m following the election campaign from up close and have by now seen countless debates with all the politicians trying to become mayor in Antwerp. Yesterday I followed two debates and both couldn’t have been more different. The first was organized by newspaper De Standaard and was literally a standard debate where the candidates were able to point out their programs. The second one was held by a union of minority organizations. It turned out to be a very animated debate, interactive with the audience and afterwords lasting for hours longer because people attending had so many questions they wanted to ask the politicians.

© Wendy Marijnissen

© Wendy Marijnissen

 

One of the wonderful things photography gives me, is the access to go places where I wouldn’t go to otherwise. Now I’m following the political process up close. I’m listening to the debates, I’m in parliament, I watch how they campaign from door to door,…

Other times I’m seeing babies being born in a hospital in Karachi, I’m talking to women in a female prison in the North-Eastern part of Afghanistan, I’m discovering sari shops in London with Belgian-Moroccan women, …  It’s so wonderful and such an adventure!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

