London

© Wendy Marijnissen

 

A new year and the start of a new project. It took me straight to London on the first days of the year and even though I’ve visited this city more times then I can remember, it was fresh and new yet again. Discovering new neighborhoods and seeing different people.

Sadly on the day I started my project, one of my all time sources of inspiration died in London. Eve Arnold.

From the moment I discovered her work, she was a source of inspiration to me. The loving way in which she photographed her subjects and the people she met, struck a chord with me. The simplicity of the image. Clear, honest, compassionate.

I love this quote of hers that sums it up totally:  “If a photographer cares about the people before the lens and is compassionate, much is given. It is the photographer, not the camera, that is the instrument.”

She’ll remain a source of inspiration for me even after her death. And I for one can’t wait for the coming book ‘All about Eve’ bundling together all her amazing work.

Rest in peace Eve. And thank you for sharing your wonderful work with us!

 

Leave a Reply

